New Chief Executive for WBoPP

15 Sep 2016

The Bay of Plenty’s largest tertiary provider, Waiariki Bay of Plenty Polytechnic (WBoPP), today announced the appointment of a new Chief Executive, Associate Professor Dr Leon de Wet Fourie.

“We are absolutely delighted to announce Dr Fourie’s appointment as the new Chief Executive for Waiariki Bay of Plenty Polytechnic,” said WBoPP Council Chair Cathy Cooney.

“During this time of transformation there is no better person to lead our new institution than Dr Fourie. He is a proven leader within the tertiary sector with keen vision and the ability to bring people together.”

Dr Fourie is currently Deputy Chief Executive at Unitec Institute of Technology in Auckland. He has worked at Unitec since 2009, successfully leading multiple transformation projects and change programmes; he is well-known as a values-based leader who is experienced in working across multi-cultural environments.

“I am inspired by Waiariki Bay of Plenty Polytechnic’s bold intent to improve access to applied education and training throughout the region, focussing on rural communities and specifically achieving successful outcomes for Māori as tangata whenua,” said Dr Fourie.

Dr Fourie’s appointment comes after a robust recruitment process attracting a large number of high calibre applicants from around New Zealand and internationally. It is anticipated that Dr Fourie will start his role during December 2016 with the exact date to be confirmed.


Associate Professor Dr de Wet Fourie has worked at Unitec Institute of Technology since 2009. He simultaneously held the positions of Executive Dean Faculty of Creative Industries and Business, Executive Dean Faculty of Technology and Built Environment, and Northern Campus Director until 2015, before becoming Deputy Chief Executive. Previously he held the position of Executive Dean, Faculty of Management Sciences and Campus Director, Educity, at Vaal University of Technology in South Africa. He also held various executive positions at Tshwane University of Technology 1995 – 2006.

Page last updated: 02 May 2017