New Horizons for Women Trust

New Horizons for Women Trust thumbnail

New Horizons for Women Trust provides awards that benefit women and/or girls. Each year the Trust provides a number of second-chance education, research and specific purpose awards.

Second-Chance Education Awards:

  • Foundation Study Awards ($1,000)
  • Diploma and Degree Study Awards ($3,000 to $4,000).

Research Awards

  • Wāhine Ora: Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga New Horizons for Women Trust Research Award.
  • NZ Federation of Graduate Women Wellington Branch Research Awards (2)
  • Margaret Shields Research Award
  • Ria McBride Research Award

Specific Purpose Awards

  • Margaret L Bailey Science Award - one award for $5,000
  • Career Change Awards - at least two awards for $3,000
  • Sonja Davies Peace Award - one award up to $4,000
  • Teupoko'ina Utanga Morgan Memorial Award - one award up to $5,000
  • Ria McBride Public Service Management Award - one award for $15,000
  • Zonta Club of South Auckland Trades Award- one award for $1,500
  • Graduate Women Manawatu Charitable Trust Refugee Study Award- one award for $3,000
  • Refugee Award sponsored by The Second Chance Group Wellington - one award for $3,750

Application Information

The awards site will open for applications on Wednesday March 1, 2017 and close on Wednesday April 12, 2017 at mid-day.
Results are advised by mid-June with awardees receiving their awards at a NHWT ceremony scheduled from July to early August. For more information about each award select the award group below and then select 'more info'.

All applications are completed and received via the online application site only. Applications must be completed fully, as incomplete applications will NOT be considered. If requested, please upload documents as PDF or Microsoft Word format.


  • Applications close:Wednesday, 12 April 2017, 12.00pm

For more information

Page last updated: 02 May 2017